The Joy of Music – 2007

Missa Benedicta Es

Gimell Records turned 25 last year. They re-issued their first recording, with an additional Mass.
I have the collection of Tallis Scholars recordings, starting from CDGIM001 through CDGIM040. CDGIM041 was released this month.

In order to keep my collection up to date I need to acquire 041, and decide what to do about the special release for the anniversary album.

Amazon.com has the catalog – basically $21.98 per disc (sale on 041 at $17.98)
iTunes store has the catalog – basically $9.99 per disc (along with the most odd per track selections)

The anniversary album is only $5.99. I can buy the 5 tracks of the new Mass for $0.99/track.
I decide to just get the whole album. I can experiment with an AIFF backup compared to the original CD.

Now for the Joy of Music.

According to the Gimell Records the CD provides the best “sonic experience”.
If I buy the CD Gimell gets some fraction of the purchase price.
If I buy the iTunes store album Gimell gets a different fraction of the purchase price.
Gimell gets more money if I buy it through iTunes, but I get the “lesser sonic experience”.

I’ll get the CD again – this time.

It’s time for Gimell to figure out how to get me the better sonic experience without taking a hit on their income.

sigh.

Leave a Reply

